Confirmed Invited Speakers

(in alphabetic order; titles are in blue)

Cato T. Laurencin
University Professor; Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Professor
University of Connecticut
Email: laurencin@uchc.edu

"Keynote Lecture: Regenerative Engineering and Nanotechnology"

P. M. Ajayan
Benjamin M. and Mary Greenwood Anderson Professor in Engineering
Rice University
Email: pma2@rice.edu
"Two-Dimensional Alloys and Hybrid Architectures"

Michel W. Barsoum
Distinguished Professor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Drexel University
Email: barsoumw@drexel.edu
"Why MXenes?"

Azzedine Bousseksou
Directeur de Recherche Classe Exceptionnelle au CNRS, Toulouse, France
Email: azzedine.bousseksou@lcc-toulouse.fr
"Molecular Spin Crossover Phenomenon at the Nanoscale: Motion and Spintronic Properties, Toward Artificial Muscles"

Michael Bowers
Distinguished professor, Department of Chemistry
University of California, Santa Barbara
Email: bowers@chem.ucsb.edu
"Mechanism of Assembly: Prion-Like Cross Talk Between Disease Agents of Alzheimer's ALS and Type 2 Diabetes"

David Castner
Joint Professor of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
University of Washington
Email: castner@uw.edu
"Quantification of Nanoparticle Composition and Structure"

Yet-Ming Chiang
Kyocera Professor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email: ychiang@mit.edu
"Synthesis and Physical Properties of Cluster-Ion Based Antiperovskites"

Roy Clarke
Marcellus L. Wiedenbeck Collegiate Professor
University of Michigan
Email:
royc@umich.edu
"Do you see the light?  Cherenkov Spectroscopy for Radiation Therapy and Targeting"

George Crabtree
Argonne National Laboratory
Email: crabtree@anl.gov
"Millie Dresselhaus: Scientist, Leader and Humanist"

Michael Duncan
Regents Professor, Franklin Professor of Chemistry
University of Georgia
Email:
maduncan@uga.edu
"Laser Synthesis and Spectroscopy of Ultra-Small Oxide Clusters and Nanoparticles"

Mostafa El Sayed
Regents' Professor and Julius Brown Chair
Georgia Tech
Email:
melsayed@gatech.edu
"Nanotechnology Enables Hot Gold Nanorods to Kill Cancer Cells and to Stop Alive Sick Cells from Migrating to other Places in the Body"

Hong Fang
Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Physics
Virginia Commonwealth University
Email: hfangtom@gmail.com
"Cluster-inspired Anti-perovskites as Solid State Electrolytes in Li and Na-ion Batteries"

Giulia Galli
Liew Family Professor of Molecular Engineering
The University of Chicago
Email: gagalli@uchicago.edu
"Sorting Through Messy Nanoparticles with First Principles Calculations"

Hannu Hakkinen
Academy Professor
University of Jyvaskyla, Finland
Email:
hannu.j.hakkinen@jyu.fi
"The Science of Atom-precise Ligand Stabilized Metal Nanoclusters"

Naomi Halas
Stanley C. Moore Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rice University
Email:
halas@rice.edu
"Nanoparticles and Light for Sustainability and Societal Impact"

Ian Harrison
Professor of Chemistry
University of Virginia
Email: harrison@virginia.edu
"Alkane Activation at Catalytic Metal Surfaces and the Pioneering Work of John T. Yates, Jr."

Ueli Heiz
Chair of Physical Chemistry
Technical University of Munich, Germany
Email: ulrich.heiz@mytum.de
"Structure, Dynamics and Reactivity of Clusters"

Jisoon Ihm
Professor of Physics
Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea
Email:
jihm1@postech.ac.kr
"Non-Carbon Porous Materials for Gas Separation and Storage"

Sumio Iijima
University Professor
Meijo University, Japan
Email: iijimas@meijo-u.ac.jp
"Towards Applications of Carbon Nanotubes"

Prashant Kamat
John A. Zahm Professor of Science
University of Notre Dame
Email: pkamat@nd.edu
"Thermal and Photodriven Mobility of Halide Ions in Metal Halide Perovskite Nanostructures"

Ratneshwar Lal
Professor of Bioengineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science
University of California, San Diego
Email: rlal@ucsd.edu
"Wireless Electronic Nano-biosensors using Graphene FET Transistor and DNA Nano-tweezers for Global Health and Security"

Jun Li
Chang Jiang Professor
Department of Chemistry, Tsinghua University, China
Email:
junli@tsinghua.edu.cn
"Theoretical Aspects of Single-Atom Catalysts"

Charles M. Lieber
Joshua and Beth Friedman University Professor
Harvard University
Email:
cml@cmliris.harvard.edu
"Nanoelectronic Tools for Brain Science"

Peter Lievens
Department of Physics and Astronomy
KU Leuven, Belgium
Email:
Peter.Lievens@fys.kuleuven.be
"Structure and Properties of Size Selected Clusters on Various Substrates"

Carl Lineberger
Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
University of Colorado
Email: wcl@jila.colorado.edu
"Will Castleman: A Multifaceted Pioneer in Cluster Science"

Lance Liotta
University Professor
George Mason University
Email: liotta.lance@gmail.com
"Application of Nano Materials to Diagnostics and Drug Discovery"

Yanming Ma
Professor and Dean
State Key Lab of Superhard Materials
College of Physics, Jilin University, China
Email: mym@jlu.edu.cn or mym@calypso.cn
"Record High Superconductivity in Hydrogen Sodilate Cage Structure Stabilized at High Pressures"

John P. Maier
Professor of Chemistry
Universit├Ąt Basel
Switzerland
Email: j.p.maier@unibas.ch
"C60+ in Interstellar Space"

Donald T. Morelli
Professor and Chairperson
Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science
Michigan State University
Email: dmorelli@egr.msu.edu
"Intrinsically Minimal Thermal Conductivity and Phonon-glass Behavior in Crystalline Solids"

Andrey Nel
Distinguished Professor of Medicine
University of California Los Angeles
Email: anel@mednet.ucla.edu
"The Use of Nano-enabled Chemo-immunotherapy for Breast and Pancreas Cancer"

Shin-ichi Orimo
Professor of Physics
Institute for Materials Research
Tohoku University, Japan
Email: orimo@imr.tohoku.ac.jp
"Lithium Super-Ionic Conduction and Battery Application of Complex Hydrides"

Richard Palmer
Senior Research Fellow, Engineering
Swansea University, UK
Email: r.e.palmer@swansea.ac.uk
"Nanoparticle Beam Deposition at the Gram Scale: A Novel Route to the Solvent-Free Creation of Heterogeneous Catalysts"

John Perdew
Laura H. Carnell Professor of Physics and Chemistry
Temple University
Email: perdew@temple.edu
"Some Recent Advances in Density Functional Theory, and a Tribute to Walter Kohn"

Xavier Roy
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
Columbia University
New York, NY 10027
Email: xr2114@columbia.edu
"Molecular Clusters: Building Blocks for Material Design"

Devleena Samanta
Postdoctoral Fellow in Chemistry
Northwestern University
Email:
dsamanta@northwestern.edu
"Detecting Intracellular Analytes using Nanoparticle-based Platforms"

Nadrian C. Seeman
Margaret and Herman Sokol Chair in Chemistry
New York University
Email:
ned.seeman@nyu.edu
"DNA: Not Merely the Secret of Life"

Jeff Snyder
Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Northwestern University
Email: jeff.snyder@northwestern.edu
"Nanostructured Thermoelectric Materials"

Joel Therrien
Associate Professor, Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering
University of Massachusetts, Lowell
Email: joel_Therrien@uml.edu
"A Novel Carbon Allotrope Grown via Molecularly Templated CVD"

A.G.G.M. Tielens
Professor of Physics and Chemistry of the Interstellar Medium
Leiden University, Netherlands
Email: tielens@strw.leidenuniv.nl
"The Aromatic Universe"

Alison B. Walker
Professor of Physics
University of Bath, UK
Email: A.B.Walker@bath.ac.uk
"Multiscale Modelling of Charge and Energy Transport in Perovskite Materials and Organic Semiconductors and Devices"

Qian Wang
Professor, Center for Applied Physics and Technology, College of Engineering
Peking University, China
Email: qianwang2@pku.edu.cn
"New Carbon Allotropes for Battery Anodes"

Chris Howard
Associate Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy
University College London
Email: c.howard@ucl.ac.hk
"TBD"


Wenqing Zhang
Professor of Physics
Southern University of Science and Technology, China
Email: zhangwq@sustc.edu.cn
"Evaluation of Electrical and Thermal Transports for Designing Advanced Thermoelectrics"